Want to keep up with news and events in Tenerife?

For now, posts here will be on an ocassional basis - for big events such as Tenerife Carnaval - so in order to keep up with all the other news and events, weather and such like - either direct or translated / curated from hand-picked articles and other sources - please "Like" and follow the Secret Tenerife Facebook Page or follow us on Twitter.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Monday, January 01, 2018

Provisional Calendar for Santa Cruz de Tenerife Carnival 2018

Provisional Calendar for Santa Cruz de Tenerife Carnival 2018

We've published the likely dates of a few of the regular carnival events before, but here is fuller list of events of Santa Cruz Carnival in this Provisional Calendar 2018 from the official carnival organisers. Below are what the events are, in English. Times and locations, which hardly need translating, can be found at the carnival website or in the graphic above.
  • Friday, 12th January: Inauguration of Carnival 2018
  • Thursday, 18th January: 1st Phase of the Junior Murgas Contest
  • Friday, 19th January: 2nd Phase of the Junior Murgas Contest
  • Saturday, 20th January: 3rd Phase of the Junior Murgas Contest
  • Sunday, 21st January: Festival of Coreographed Groups
  • Monday, 22nd January: 1st Phase of the Adult Murga Contest
  • Tuesday, 23rd January: 2nd Phase of the Adult Murga Contest
  • Wednesday, 24th January: 3rd Phase of the Adult Murga Contest
  • Friday, 26th January: Final of the Murga Contests
  • Saturday, 27th January: Contest of Musical Groups
  • Sunday, 28th January: Gala Election of the Junior Carnival Queen
  • Wednesday, 31st January: Gala Election of the Senior Carnaval Queen
  • Thursday, 1st February: Comedy Song Contest
  • Saturday, 3rd February: Comparsas Contest
  • Sunday, 4th February: Costume Contest and the Rondallas Contest
  • Wednesday, 7th February: Gala Election of the Carnival Queen
  • Friday, 9th February: Opening Parade
  • Saturday, 10th February: Rhythym and Harmony Comparsas
  • Sunday, 11th February: Daytime Carnaval
  • Monday, 12th February: Carnaval Monday
  • Tuesday, 13th February: Carnival Main Parade
  • Wednesday, 14th February: Burial of the Sardine
  • Thursday, 15th February: Festival of Rondallas
  • Friday, 16th February: Children's Carnival Parade and Festival of Prizewinners
  • Saturday, 17th February: Daytime Carnaval
  • Sunday, 18th February: Carnival ends with a firework display
You will note that the main day of carnival, we know it as Shrove Tuesday, this year falls on the 13th of the month. Whether this is going to be auspicious or inauspicious, I cannot say, but in hispanic and Greek culture, instead of Friday, Tuesday the 13th (martes trece) is considered a day of bad luck. We'll cross our fingers that this time it isn't!

¡Hola! From Tenerife

If you enjoyed this post or found it useful, subscribe to our free newsletter and get regular rays of Tenerife sunshine in your inbox. Just enter your email address below.

Delivered by FeedBurner