Hola From Tenerife

Subscribe to our free newsletter to get an (ir)regular ray of Tenerife sunshine in your inbox. Just enter your email address below.

Delivered by FeedBurner

Close

Secret Tenerife is recognised as the most detailed English language website on the island. If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to our RSS feed or Subscribe by email to stay up to date. For more news and events, please like and follow our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter.

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Provisional Program for Carnival in Santa Cruz de Tenerife 2020

Carnival

We're making this up as we go along, though based on previous years, but provided that carnival in Santa Cruz de Tenerife continues to follow the usual schedule (and it would be tantamount to an act of sacrilege to suggest significant changes), events in 2020 might look like this. Obviously, any or all of this could be changed and any changes are beyond our control. We'll update as soon as the carnival organisers publish a calendar.

UPDATE: Journalist Humberto Gonar (EL DÍA) has also published a provisional calendar for Carnival 2020 on his website and this agrees with what I have listed below.

Highlighted are the events and parades in the streets.
  • Friday, 24 January: Inauguration of Carnival 2020
  • Thursday, 30 January: 1st Phase of the Junior Murgas Contest
  • Friday, 31 January: 2nd Phase of the Junior Murgas Contest
  • Saturday, 1 February: 3rd Phase of the Junior Murgas Contest
  • Sunday, 2 February: Festival of Coreographed Groups
  • Monday, 3 February: 1st Phase of the Adult Murga Contest
  • Tuesday, 4 February: 2nd Phase of the Adult Murga Contest
  • Wednesday, 5 February: 3rd Phase of the Adult Murga Contest
  • Friday, 7 February: Final of the Murga Contests
  • Saturday, 8 February: Contest of Musical Groups
  • Sunday, 9 February: Gala Election of the Junior Carnival Queen
  • Wednesday, 12 February: Gala Election of the Senior Carnaval Queen
  • Friday, 14 February: Comedy Song Contest
  • Saturday, 15 February: Comparsas Contest
  • Sunday, 16 February: Costume Contest and the Rondallas Contest
  • Tuesday, 18 February: Concert with lyrical group Los Fregolinos
  • Wednesday, 19 February: Gala Election of the Carnival Queen
  • Thursday, 20 February: Festival of the Zarzuela
  • Friday, 21 February: Opening Parade
  • Saturday, 22 February: Rhythm and Harmony Comparsas
  • Sunday, 23 February: Daytime Carnival
  • Monday, 24 February: Carnival Monday
  • Tuesday, 25 February: Carnival Main Parade
  • Wednesday, 26 February: Burial of the Sardine
  • Thursday, 27 February: Festival of Rondallas
  • Friday, 28 February: Children's Carnival Parade and Festival of Prizewinners
  • Saturday, 29 February: Daytime Carnival
  • Sunday, 1 March: Exhibition and parade of vintage and classic cars, end of carnival party and carnival closes with a firework display

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Printfriendly

, which was first published on 5 February 2004. You may not realise this, but we don't get paid for this work, which takes many hours staying up to date with events and translating information. If you find this site interesting or useful, please consider making a donation so work can continue.

Secret Tenerife is a "Pay As You Feel" website. You can have access to all of my work for free, or you can choose to make a small donation to help me keep writing. The choice is entirely yours.

Hola From Tenerife

If you enjoyed this post or found it useful, subscribe to our free newsletter and get regular rays of Tenerife sunshine in your inbox. Just enter your email address below.

Delivered by FeedBurner