Hola From Tenerife

Subscribe to our free newsletter to get an (ir)regular ray of Tenerife sunshine in your inbox. Just enter your email address below.

Delivered by FeedBurner



Festivals in Tenerife and other large gatherings are still not able to be held with social distancing and other restrictions still in force. Events listed here, therefore, are subject to cancellation or change without notice. Such circumstances are beyond our control.

Please like and follow our facebook page for more updates >>

Wednesday, February 10, 2021

Carnival Queens of the last Twenty Years

Carnival Queen 2020 Sara Cruz Teja

The Election of the Carnival Queen should have taken place today, Wednesday 10 February 2021, but, of course, because of the COVID pandemic, carnival will not be taking place. It has, however, been announced that Guardians of the Sceptre until Carnival 2022 will be chosen this year from among 12 adult, three junior and five senior queens. 

This year virtual carnival events take place between 17 February and 7 March, culminating in a television gala, ‘Santa Cruz, Corazón del Carnaval’ (Santa Cruz, Heart of Carnival) on March 7, which replaces the Carnival Queen Gala. Twelve of the queens of the last 20 years, highlighted, will appear in this year's virtual carnival gala, chosen to accommodate the twelve designers who have presented at least two adult fantasies in the last three years

Designers: Juan Pedro Quintero, Miguel Ángel Castilla and Saliarca Creativos have all had one winning design in 2001, 2002 and 2013, respectively. With two wins under their belts are Daniel Pagés in 2014 and 2016 and Sedomir Rodríguez de la Sierra in 2019 and 2020. With three wins each are Santi Castro in 2003, 2008 and 2012, Juan Carlos Armas with three consecutive wins in 2004, 2005 and 2006 and Jorge González Santana in 2015, 2017 and 2018. But, the designer with the most winning designs over the last 20 years is Leo Martínez with four wins, first in 2007 and then three consecutive wins in 2009, 2010 and 2011. After that he was asked to bow out in order to give someone else a chance.

Seven queens change designer, which tells us that they will all be parading in new costumes, which we're told are of reduced dimensions and will range between 2.5 and 3.5 meters (in the last edition, they were up to 6 meters) and be without wheels. The great absentee from the show, once more, will be Leo Martínez, by his own decision.

Here's a list of the carnival queens 2001-2020 Could you pick a favourite? 







Silvia González Rodríguez

"Talismán" (Talisman)

Juan Pedro Quintero

Almacenes El Kilo


Lorena Díaz García

"Alta temperatura" (High temperature)

Miguel Ángel Castilla

Centro Comercial del Mueble


Natalia Díaz Mesa

"Láquesis" (Lachesis)

Santi Castro

Centro Comercial Carrefour


Natalia Acosta Jorge

"Miércoles de luna llena" (Full Moon Wednesday)

Juan Carlos Armas

Bingo Colombófilo


Ana María Pérez Meneses

"Rozando la piel del cielo" (Touching the skin of the sky)

Juan Carlos Armas

Centro Comercial Alcampo


Neólida Hernández Martín

"El Carro de la Gloria" (The Chariot of Glory)

Juan Carlos Armas

Bingo Colombófilo


Elizabet García

"Miss Dior"

Leo Martínez

El Día


Nauzet Celeste Cruz Melo

"La Edad de Oro" (The Golden Age)

Santi Castro



Ana María Tavárez Mata

"Embrujada" (Bewitched)

Leo Martínez

El Día


Alicia San Juan McNulty

"En el País de las Maravillas" (In Wonderland)

Leo Martínez

El Día


Naomi Cabrera Pulido

"Cien años de historia" (One Hundred Years of History)

Leo Martínez

El Día


Carmen Gil González

"Imperio" (Empire)

Santi Castro

Zona Comercial Tranvía


Soraya Rodríguez Castro

"Volare" (Fly)

Saliarca Creativos

Centro Comercial Carrefour – Meridiano


Amanda Perdomo San Juan

Poderosa Amazona(Powerful Amazon)

Daniel Pagés

McDonald´s and La Opinión de Tenerife


Adtemexi Cruz Hernández

"Aurea” (Golden)

Jorge González Santana

FuenteAlta and Tu Santa Cruz


Cecilia Navarro Arteaga

"Arena blanca del desierto" (White Desert Sand)

Daniel Pagés

McDonald´s and La Opinión de Tenerife


Judit López García

"Madame Soleil" (Madam Sun)

Jorge González Santana



Carmen Laura Lourido Pérez

"Renacida" (Reborn)

Jorge González Santana



Priscila Medina Quintero

"La Nuit" (The Night)

Sedomir Rodríguez de la Sierra

Autoinsular Citroën


Sara Cruz Teja

"Sentir" (Feel)

Sedomir Rodríguez de la Sierra

Centro Comercial Alcampo La Laguna

Instead, we bring you coverage of this event from last year. This is one in a series of posts that aim to keep the spirit of carnival alive. Or keep the flame burning, so the torch can be passed to the next carnival, whenever we can get back to gathering normally.

No comments:

Secret Tenerife Needs Your Support: We don't get paid for our work, which takes many hours of research, translation, etc. Therefore, if you can and find this site interesting or useful, please consider making a donation.

Tenerife Topics

Adeje Almond Flower Route April in Tenerife Arafo Arico Arona Ash Wednesday Auditorio de Tenerife August in Tenerife Brexit Buenavista del Norte Burial of the Sardine Canarian Cuisine Canaries Day Candelaria Candelmas Carnaval de Día Carnaval de Verano Carnival 1987 Carnival 1988 Carnival 1989 Carnival 1990 Carnival 1991 Carnival 1992 Carnival 1993 Carnival 1994 Carnival 1995 Carnival 1996 Carnival 1997 Carnival 1998 Carnival 1999 Carnival 2000 Carnival 2001 Carnival 2002 Carnival 2003 Carnival 2004 Carnival 2005 Carnival 2006 Carnival 2007 Carnival 2008 Carnival 2009 Carnival 2010 Carnival 2011 Carnival 2012 Carnival 2013 Carnival 2014 Carnival 2015 Carnival 2016 Carnival 2017 Carnival 2018 Carnival 2019 Carnival 2020 Carnival 2021 Carnival 2022 Carnival Foods Carnival History Carnival Main Parade Carnival Queen Santa Cruz Carnival Queens 2001-2020 Carnivals of the World Children's Carnaval Parade Chinyero Christmas in Tenerife Christopher Columbus Comparsas Corazones de Tejina Corpus Christi COVID-19 Craft Fairs Daytime Carnival December in Tenerife Día de la Cruz Día de San José Easter in Tenerife El Gordo Christmas Lottery El Rosario El Sauzal El Tanque Epidemics in Tenerife Farmers Markets Fasnia February in Tenerife Fiestas de San Juan Fiestas El Palmar Flavours of Christmas Garachico Granadilla de Abona Guía de Isora Güímar History of Tenerife Icod de los Vinos Innocent Saints January in Tenerife Jardín Botánico July in Tenerife June in Tenerife Junior Carnival Queen La Gomera La Guancha La Matanza de Acentejo La Orotava La Siervita La Victoria de Acentejo Las Burras de Güímar Las Celias de Tenerife Los Cristianos Los Cristianos Carnival Los Gigantes Los Gigantes Carnival Los Indianos Los Realejos Los Reyes Los Silos March in Tenerife Masca Mascarita Ponte Tacón May in Tenerife Monuments and Sculptures in Santa Cruz Municipal Holidays Municipalities Fiestas Nelson's Attack on Santa Cruz 25 Jul 1797 New Year in Tenerife Nochebuena November in Tenerife October in Tenerife Opening Parade Parade of Vintage Cars Public Holidays Puerto de la Cruz Puerto de la Cruz Carnival Rally Calendar Recipes for All Saints Day Rhythm and Harmony Comparsas Romería de San Roque Romerías San Andrés San Antonio Abad San Cristóbal de La Laguna San Juan de la Rambla San Miguel de Abona San Sebastián Santa Cruz de Tenerife Santa Cruz de Tenerife Carnival Santa Cruz de Tenerife Carnival Themes Santa Úrsula Santiago del Teide Senior Carnival Queen September in Tenerife Shrove Tuesday Simón Bolívar Summer Carnival Tacoronte Tegueste Tenerife Carnival Dates Tenerife Disaster Tenerife Fire Tenerife Month by Month Tenerife Museums Tenerife Rally Tenerife Walking Festival Tenerife Weather Tenerife Wines Teno Rural Park This Is Tenerife (TIT) Town Halls in Tenerife Traditional Fiestas Tropical Storm Delta Vilaflor de Chasna