Hola From Tenerife

Subscribe to our free newsletter to get an (ir)regular ray of Tenerife sunshine in your inbox. Just enter your email address below.

Delivered by FeedBurner



Festivals in Tenerife and other large gatherings are still not able to be held with social distancing and other restrictions still in force. Events listed here, therefore, are subject to cancellation or change without notice. Such circumstances are beyond our control.

Please like and follow our facebook page for more updates >>

Friday, December 12, 2008

Public Holidays in Tenerife 2009


Public holidays in Tenerife, in 2009, are the following:

  • 1 January, Año Nuevo (New Year's Day).
  • 6 January, Epifanía del Señor (Epiphany / Three Kings Day).
  • 2 FebruaryVirgen de la Candelaria (Candlemas).
  • 9 April, Jueves Santo (Easter Thursday).
  • 10 April, Viernes Santo (Good Friday).
  • 1 May, Fiesta del Trabajo (Labour Day).
  • 30 May, Día de Canarias (Canaries Day).
  • 15 August, Asunción de la Virgen (Assumption of Mary) Fiestas in Candelaria.
  • 12 October, Fiesta Nacional de España (National Day of Spain).
  • 7 December, (in lieu of the 6th) Día de la Constitución (Constitution Day).
  • 8 December, Inmaculada Concepción (Immaculate Conception).
  • 25 December, Natividad del Señor (Christmas).

And as well as these 12 days established by law [1], there are also a further 2 days given each year as local holidays, which differ from one district to the next.

[1] That alone makes public holidays in Spain a different from Bank Holidays in the UK, where "There is no automatic right to time off on these days."

No comments: