After more than 20 years, posts here will now only be occasional (see why) for big events such as Tenerife Carnaval, so please "Like" and follow our Facebook Page because that's where to see future updates.

Every Traditional Fiesta in Tenerife

Fiestas de Mayo in the capital, Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Photo: By Koppchen (Own work) [CC BY 3.0]

We've already covered Tenerife Carnival DatesEaster Week EventsCorpus Christi Carpets, the Romerías, as well as Public Holidays and Municipal Holidays the dates of which give clues to the fiestas in each district.

Fiestas in Tenerife and the Canary Islands come in two varieties: winter and summer. Winter festivals include everything in the Christmas season, plus the Carnival (once renamed as "Winter Festival" when it was prohibited by Franco). Summer ones include Corpus Cristi and the vast array of traditional folk festivals (Romerias), which actually start taking place almost as soon as Christmas is over and run right through to the end of October.

Some events, such as annual Fiestas de la CruzSan Juan, or the Three Kings parade on January 5th, plus Christmas & New Year, of course, are held on set dates every year, irrespective of what day of the week they fall on.

Others revolve around the "moveable feasts" of the Catholic church's calendar, like Easter, for example, which then allows us to work backwards to the dates for lent and for the Carnival. And there are others, like Corpus Cristi, where the main events to be seen occur so many days before or after the "religious" dates.

Many others pay homage to a particular saint, who's day is on a fixed date, but are held in different places on different weekends, worked out by a complicated formula, such as 'the second Saturday, after the third Sunday, provided the wind is blowing from the east.' We may not always have advance warning of those. We're not sure even organisers always get the formula right!

We try to cover the main fiestas each month: January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December.

Have we covered every single traditional fiesta in Tenerife? We doubt it! We suspect that nobody really knows everything about all of them, nevertheless, here's what we have on fiestas in all thirty-one municipalities in Tenerife:

  1. Fiestas in Adeje
  2. Fiestas in Arafo
  3. Fiestas in Arico
  4. Fiestas in Arona
  5. Fiestas in Buenavista del Norte
  6. Fiestas in Candelaria
  7. Fiestas in El Rosario
  8. Fiestas in El Sauzal
  9. Fiestas in El Tanque
  10. Fiestas in Fasnia
  11. Fiestas in Garachico
  12. Fiestas in Granadilla de Abona
  13. Fiestas in La Guancha
  14. Fiestas in Guía de Isora
  15. Fiestas in Güímar
  16. Fiestas in Icod de los Vinos
  17. Fiestas in La Matanza de Acentejo
  18. Fiestas in La Orotava
  19. Fiestas in La Victoria de Acentejo
  20. Fiestas in Los Realejos
  21. Fiestas in Los Silos
  22. Fiestas in Puerto de la Cruz
  23. Fiestas in San Cristóbal de La Laguna
  24. Fiestas in San Juan de la Rambla
  25. Fiestas in San Miguel de Abona
  26. Fiestas in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
  27. Fiestas in Santa Úrsula
  28. Fiestas in Santiago del Teide
  29. Fiestas in Tacoronte
  30. Fiestas in Tegueste
  31. Fiestas in Vilaflor de Chasna

Tenerife Land of Eternal Christmas

Sunbathing SantaDesert Island ChristmasScuba Diving SantaTropical Santa
Santa's Having a Whale of a TimeSurfing SantaWaterski SantaCamel Rodeo Santa
With a wide range of products in each design, click the pics (above) to see the full selections.