Want to keep up with news and events in Tenerife?

For now, posts here will be on an ocassional basis - for big events such as Tenerife Carnaval - so in order to keep up with all the other news and events, weather and such like - either direct or translated / curated from hand-picked articles and other sources - please "Like" and follow the Secret Tenerife Facebook Page or follow us on Twitter.

Tuesday, March 08, 2016

Guide to Romerías in Tenerife in 2016


"Paganism, religion, jubilation, tradition, history, culture and identity all roll into one in the island’s great celebrations known as romerías -- a kind of procession with folk dressed in traditional attire, accompanied by traditional singing and dancing, in honour of a saint." Attending any of the romerías in Tenerife is a chance to enjoy what are by far the island’s most popular festivals. Read more in Tenerife Romerías

The year started with several romerías in honour of San Antonio Abad (St. Anthony Abbot) on 17th, 24th and 31st January, in Los Realejos, Los Silos, Arona, Chio, Güímar, Buenavista del Norte and La Florida. Other romerías taking place this year are as follows:

Sunday, 24th April: Romería de San Marcos in Tegueste
Friday, 13th May: Romería de La Virgen del Buen Viaje y San Telmo in Santa Cruz
Sunday, 15th May: Romería de San Isidro in Guía de Isora
Sunday, 29th May: Romería de San Isidro in Los Realejos
Sunday, 5th June: Romería de San Antonio de Padua in Granadilla de Abona
Sunday, 5th June: Romería de San Isidro in La Orotava
Sunday, 10th July: Romería de San Benito Abad in La Laguna
Sunday, 7th August: Romería de la Esperanza in El Rosario
Sunday, 14th August: Romería de la Candelaria in Candelaria
Tuesday, 16th August: Romería de San Roque in Garachico
Saturday, 27th August: Romería de San Agustín in Arafo
Wednesday, 7th September: Romería de la Bajada de la Virgen del Socorro in Güímar

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...